Tuesday, May 3, 2011

IPL- Decan Chargers

Deccan Chargers (Telugu: డెక్కన్ చార్జర్స్; Urdu: دکن چارجرز) known in short as DC or 'Chargers' is a cricket franchise that represents the city of Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League.[1] They won the Second season held in South Africa in 2009. The team is led by Kumar Sangakkara and coached by Darren Lehmann, former Australian Test and One-Day Cricketer.

They finished last in the inaugural season of the IPL, and as the champions in the next season.

The Deccan Chargers franchise is owned by the Deccan Chronicle corporation. The media group acquired the franchise for an amount of USD 107 million on 24 January 2008. Later, another media group, Group M India picked up a 20% stake in the franchise.


No comments: